Return of Senior Hurling Team

April 19th, 2017 | News

Cavan senior hurlers will make a welcome return when they compete in the upcoming Lory Meagher Cup for the first time in six years.

Training has been going well over the past number of months and players and management are looking forward to the upcoming games, having played a number of challenge matches.

The team will be managed by Tipperary native and former player Dinny Cahill and Cootehill Celtic’s Seamus Hughes.

The first outing is next Saturday 22nd April 2pm in Kingspan Breffni when Cavan host Warwickshire.

At underage level, Cavan minors will play Monaghan in the opening game of the Ulster hurling shield next Fri 21st April 7.30pm at a Monaghan venue.

Meanwhile preparations are ongoing for the Celtic Challenge U17 competition which begins on Wednesday 3rd May. This is the second year of this development competition which proved a huge success last year with 55 teams from every county expected to take part in 2017. Cavan will play in group F, see fixtures below.

Lory Meagher Cup Fixtures:
Each team plays 5 games. Top two teams qualify for final.
Rd 1 Sat 22nd April​ Cavan​ v Warwickshire
Rd 2 Sat 29th April​ Leitrim​ v Cavan
Rd 3 Sat 6th May​ Cavan​ v Sligo
Rd 4 Sat 13th May​ Lancashire​ v Cavan
Rd 5 Sat 20th May​ Fermanagh​ v Cavan​

Sat 10th June​ Final

Ulster Minor Hurling Champ Shield
(Cavan, Fermanagh, Monaghan, Donegal, Tyrone)
(Extra Time will be played if required in all games).​​

Fri 21st April 7.30pm​ Qtr Final:​ Monaghan v Cavan
Fri 28th April 7.30pm​ Semi Final​ Donegal v Monaghan / Cavan at Cavan Venue
Fri 5th May​7.30pm​ Final:​

 

Celtic Challenge

Celtic Challenge U17 Hurling
Group F: Cavan, Leitrim, Longford, Louth, Monaghan, Meath 2.

Wed 3rd May​7.30pm​ Rd 1: ​Leitrim​ v​ Cavan​in Ballinamore
Wed 10th May 7.30pm​ Rd 2: ​Cavan​ v​Monaghan ​in Cavan venue
Wed 17th May 7.30pm​ Rd 3:​Louth​​ v​ Cavan ​in Mullagh
Sat 27th May​ 4.00pm​ Rd4:​ Meath 2​ v Cavan ​in Darver
Wed 31st May​ 7.30pm​ Rd 5:​ Cavan v Longford​ in Granard

Sat 10th June ​Preliminary Rounds
Sat 17th June​ Playoffs
Sat 24th June​​ Finals:

Ulster Football Championship 2017 - Quarter Final - Monaghan v Cavan